Inertia

Every body continues in its state of rest, or of uniform motion in a right line, unless it is compelled to change that state by forces impressed upon it. -Isaac Newton


Before I moved I had a whole blog post in my head about inertia and how when I am able to take decisive action in one area of my life good things tend to follow across the board. I had hoped that making the big effort to finally move might cause an abundance of awesomeness to rain down on my life. 

Then I actually moved.

If my life is a ball that gets rolling with the good stuff and stopped by the bad stuff then my life had been on a gentle journey forward that was stopped on a dime by this move. 

I’m thinking I didn’t adequately prepare myself for the upheaval of moving into our own place for the first time in two years. There’s a lot to adjust to, which I’ve had to manage on the fly since everything came together pretty quick. I’m lucky that I have people here to help smooth the transition, but even two weeks after the move I still feel intensely worn out most days. 

To combat that, and hopefully get my ball rolling again, I’m trying to concentrate on forming good habits, focusing more seriously on my creative pursuits, and will attempt to start socializing again soon. I don’t know if that kind of positive intent will be enough to get me out of this slump, but it’s worth a shot.

Anyways, it’s not the blog I thought it would be, but maybe in a few weeks I’ll be on a wicked roll and it’ll turn out that this momentary setback was actually the biggest boost of all. Here’s to hoping, at least. 

I’ll leave you with a few inertia quotes I like.

Be well, friends.

“I will act now. I will act now. I will act now. Henceforth, I will repeat these words each hour, each day, everyday, until the words become as much a habit as my breathing, and the action which follows becomes as instinctive as the blinking of my eyelids. With these words I can condition my mind to perform every action necessary for my success. I will act now. I will repeat these words again and again and again. I will walk where failures fear to walk. I will work when failures seek rest. I will act now for now is all I have. Tomorrow is the day reserved for the labor of the lazy. I am not lazy. Tomorrow is the day when the failure will succeed. I am not a failure. I will act now. Success will not wait. If I delay, success will become wed to another and lost to me forever. This is the time. This is the place. I am the person.” -Og Mandino

“Change has to be hard because you’re fighting against inertia.” -James Thornton

“Life leaps like a geyser for those who drill through the rock of inertia.” -Alexis Carrel

“The real key is to live in an environment where the mind feels free to choose the right thing instead of being compelled by habit and inertia to choose the wrong thing.” -Deepak Chopra

“You must take the first step. The first steps will take some effort, maybe pain. But after that, everything that has to be done is real-life movement.” -Ben Stein

Leave a Reply

